Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
*BETA* Ending
05-29-2015, 04:51 PM, (This post was last modified: 05-30-2015, 06:55 AM by skeight.)
#1
Posts: 1,173
Threads: 117
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 48
*BETA* Ending
skeight Offline Administrator View worlds
********
Upgrade is mostly complete. I need to fix up some of the forum templates and will make those updates as time permits.

Thanks for your patience while we work through the transition.


In a short while (after playing a round or two of hots to unwind after work) , I will be promoting the beta version of the site to full production.

The migration will take a little while and I'll do my best to make it seamless.

I'm not going to take the site down while doing it. You just might get strange results if you're browsing around. Feel free to continue to upload as any restarts that I do will be graceful as not to interrupt.

The render system will NOT be effected.
Quote
05-29-2015, 07:05 PM, (This post was last modified: 05-29-2015, 07:08 PM by EndenDragon.)
#2
Posts: 13
Threads: 5
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 1
RE: *BETA* Ending
EndenDragon Offline YT: TheCraftedDragon View worlds
*
Yay! I love the new layout! The pretty avatars! Smile
One problem, I miss the list of maps updated box thingy. Mind bringing this back? Tongue
Quote
05-30-2015, 06:54 AM,
#3
Posts: 1,173
Threads: 117
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 48
RE: *BETA* Ending
skeight Offline Administrator View worlds
********
(05-29-2015, 07:05 PM)EndenDragon Wrote: Yay! I love the new layout! The pretty avatars! Smile
One problem, I miss the list of maps updated box thingy. Mind bringing this back? Tongue

On the list - I'll find a spot to get this back in.

(05-30-2015, 12:24 AM)KrisFirebolt Wrote: Woo!~ Its nice and big!

Edit: Fullscreen is kind of broken for maps

What browser/version/device (more info the better) are you using? It's working well for me on everything I've tried so far.
Quote
05-30-2015, 03:14 PM, (This post was last modified: 05-30-2015, 03:35 PM by Vincent294.)
#4
Posts: 21
Threads: 1
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
RE: *BETA* Ending
Vincent294 Offline Premium View worlds
***
The forums are getting redone? Thank goodness, they look really outdated in contrast to the rest of the site. I can dig the new minimalist look as long as it's actually consistent. Right now the site's reminding me of how the Windows 10 preview looked about 3 months ago. Not pretty, but full of potential. One problem I have is the drop-down menus at the top of the site aren't flush with the bar. That needs improvement. You might want to reduce the frequency of the default avatar and you could display one more at the top of the site. Lastly, the ad on the front of the site is in the same box the featured world is in. When fake download link ads appear there, they might be mistaken for the real one. You should separate that like you did on the sidebar to eliminate confusion.
Quote
05-30-2015, 04:16 PM,
#5
Posts: 1,173
Threads: 117
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 48
RE: *BETA* Ending
skeight Offline Administrator View worlds
********
(05-30-2015, 09:27 AM)KrisFirebolt Wrote: I use Google Chrome, on a Windows 7 PC.

Try doing a Shift-F5 on the page to reload the cache. I use the same and it always fills the screen for me...

(05-30-2015, 03:14 PM)Vincent294 Wrote: ...One problem I have is the drop-down menus at the top of the site aren't flush with the bar...

Can you take a screenshot? I'm not sure what you mean here

(05-30-2015, 03:14 PM)Vincent294 Wrote: You might want to reduce the frequency of the default avatar...

This will happen over time as people change their avatars. In fact, I'm noticing a big increase in populated avatars already.

(05-30-2015, 03:14 PM)Vincent294 Wrote: When fake download link ads appear there, they might be mistaken for the real one.

I really dislike these ads. If you see them there is a little X icon (usually top right corner) on the ad that you can click. Say *Stop seeing this ad* and when asked why say it's *Inappropriate*, that helps to filter them out. I'm surprised Google even allows them to be honest.
Quote
05-30-2015, 05:14 PM,
#6
Posts: 13
Threads: 5
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 1
RE: *BETA* Ending
EndenDragon Offline YT: TheCraftedDragon View worlds
*
FYI, the Sponsered download button is broken. I had to use "../worlds/3HAyj" to link my map to the elcdragon map. Else, from the users page, it will reach to "http://www.minecraftworldmap.com/users/3HAyj".
Quote
05-30-2015, 06:40 PM,
#7
Posts: 21
Threads: 1
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
RE: *BETA* Ending
Vincent294 Offline Premium View worlds
***
(05-30-2015, 04:16 PM)skeight Wrote:
(05-30-2015, 03:14 PM)Vincent294 Wrote: ...One problem I have is the drop-down menus at the top of the site aren't flush with the bar...

Can you take a screenshot? I'm not sure what you mean here

(05-30-2015, 03:14 PM)Vincent294 Wrote: When fake download link ads appear there, they might be mistaken for the real one.

I really dislike these ads. If you see them there is a little X icon (usually top right corner) on the ad that you can click. Say *Stop seeing this ad* and when asked why say it's *Inappropriate*, that helps to filter them out. I'm surprised Google even allows them to be honest.

The user menu is overlapping the bar. The sister site menu is separated from it. The browse menu is flush with it, which looks best. See what I mean:

[Image: fczNYbUZWXBiE2APH5M3KLDLnF2Ei63_iIo9revV...23-h631-no]

As for the ads, I agree. But as long as they exist action should be taken to distinguish them from the rest of the site. Given how little effort is required to crop the white box containing the featured world and ad so the latter is separated from the former, I'd say it's worth it.
Quote
05-31-2015, 09:37 AM,
#8
Posts: 1,173
Threads: 117
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 48
RE: *BETA* Ending
skeight Offline Administrator View worlds
********
(05-30-2015, 05:14 PM)EndenDragon Wrote: FYI, the Sponsered download button is broken. I had to use "../worlds/3HAyj" to link my map to the elcdragon map. Else, from the users page, it will reach to "http://www.minecraftworldmap.com/users/3HAyj".

Sponsored download is meant for people to put full URLs to their alternative download area. Ad.fly or whatever. Generally a full url would be put in starting with the http://

(05-30-2015, 06:40 PM)Vincent294 Wrote: The user menu is overlapping the bar. The sister site menu is separated from it. The browse menu is flush with it, which looks best. See what I mean:

I see what you mean now. I'll add this to my list.

(05-30-2015, 06:40 PM)Vincent294 Wrote: As for the ads, I agree. But as long as they exist action should be taken to distinguish them from the rest of the site. Given how little effort is required to crop the white box containing the featured world and ad so the latter is separated from the former, I'd say it's worth it.

I was going to put it outside but then it throws off the alignment of everything. I am actively blocking these ads on my end too and complaining to Google support about their misleading nature.
Quote
05-31-2015, 09:53 AM,
#9
Posts: 1,173
Threads: 117
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 48
RE: *BETA* Ending
skeight Offline Administrator View worlds
********
Download counter was broken since Friday. Sorry about that.

Downloads are now being properly tallied when someone uses the download link.
Quote
05-31-2015, 11:43 AM, (This post was last modified: 05-31-2015, 11:43 AM by EndenDragon.)
#10
Posts: 13
Threads: 5
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 1
RE: *BETA* Ending
EndenDragon Offline YT: TheCraftedDragon View worlds
*
(05-31-2015, 09:37 AM)skeight Wrote:
(05-30-2015, 05:14 PM)EndenDragon Wrote: FYI, the Sponsered download button is broken. I had to use "../worlds/3HAyj" to link my map to the elcdragon map. Else, from the users page, it will reach to "http://www.minecraftworldmap.com/users/3HAyj".

Sponsored download is meant for people to put full URLs to their alternative download area. Ad.fly or whatever. Generally a full url would be put in starting with the http://
When I put "google.com" in sponsered download link, it goes to "minecraftworldmap.com/worlds/google.com", but only if I put "http://www.google.com/" it will properly go to google.com.
Quote


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)